Houston Rockets forward Chandler Parsons was voted to the 2011-12 NBA All-Rookie Second Team, which was announced today by the NBA as part of the All-Rookie Team announcement. Parsons (10 First Team and 13 Second Team, 33 points) was actually the leading votegetter among the All-Rookie Second Team members. With the addition of Parsons, the Rockets have now had 18 players overall earn All-Rookie Team recognition, including fourHouston rookies since 2005-06. 

Parsons (6-9, 200, Florida), who was selected by Houston in the second round (38th overall) of the 2011 NBA Draft, averaged 9.5 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.16 steals in 63 games (57 starts). He ranked near the top of nearly every statistical category among NBA rookies, including fourth in steals per game (1.16), tied for sixth in rebounding average (4.8), tied for ninth in scoring (9.5) and 10th in assists per game (2.1). Parsons also notched two or more steals in 23 games, which was second on the Rockets (24 by Kyle Lowry). He reached double-digit scoring 30 times, including five 20-point performances (Rockets record: 3-2). Parsons was also a member of TeamTexas for the Shooting Stars contest on All-Star Saturday Night inOrlando (2/25/12), which finished second to TeamNew York in the finals. 

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the First Team and five players for the Second Team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes. 

Below is a look at the all-time list of Rockets to earn All-Rookie Team selection: 


First Team

1969               Elvin Hayes

1971               Calvin Murphy

1976               Joe C. Meriweather

1977               John Lucas Jr.

1984               Ralph Sampson

1985               Hakeem Olajuwon

2000               Steve Francis

2003              YaoMing

2008               Luis Scola


Second Team

1984               Rodney McCray

1993               Robert Horry

1997               Matt Maloney

1999               Michael Dickerson

1999               Cuttino Mobley

2002               Eddie Griffin

2006               Luther Head

2008               Carl Landry

2012               Chandler Parsons



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live