Houston Rockets forward Chandler Parsons will join Rockets legend and two-time NBA champion Kenny Smith and four-time WNBA All-Star Sophia Young of the San Antonio Silver Stars as members of TeamTexas in the Haier Shooting Stars contest on Feb. 25 atAmwayCenter. The competition will pit squads representingAtlanta,New York,Texas and NBA All-Star 2012 host cityOrlando. Parsons, who is an Orlando-area native, was selected by the Rockets in the second round of the 2011 NBA Draft out ofFlorida. 

The Haier Shooting Stars contest features one current NBA player, one current WNBA player and one TNT on-air talent/NBA legend on each team. There are six numbered shooting locations of increasing difficulty, with each team attempting to make all shots in numeric order in the fastest time. Each team will select a specific player rotation to follow throughout the competition. Each shot must be made before the next player begins shooting in succession. Teams have up to two minutes to complete the entire shooting course and the team that completes all six shots in the least amount of time is declared the winner. In the case of a tie, a shoot-off will be used to determine the winner. 

In last year’s competition, Team Atlanta, which featured NBA TV analyst Steve Smith, Hawks center Al Horford and Dream guard Coco Miller, defeated TeamTexas in the final round with a time of 1:10. 

Haier Shooting Stars will be televised live nationally as part of the NBA All-Star Saturday Night presented by State Farm, which will also feature the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, Sprite Slam Dunk and Taco Bell Skills Challenge. TNT and ESPN Radio’s national coverage will begin at 7 p.m. (CST) fromAmwayCenter. The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, Feb. 26, will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 200 countries and will be broadcast in more than 40 languages.



Leave a Reply