610SPOR2 35h_CBSSportsRad_Houston

Holiday Book Gifts For Him

December 2, 2013 8:00 AM

View Comments
Photo Credit Thinkstock

Photo Credit Thinkstock

Horror fans, pop-culture aficionados, trivia champions, or those just in search of a little bit of inspiration will love any of these books. From Stephen King to Duck Dynastyto The Beatles, there’s something for every man in your life on this list from our friends at Simon & Schuster.

Doctor Sleep
By Stephen King

The #1 New York Times bestseller, Doctor Sleep is the essential gift for any Stephen King fan. Dan Torrance, now middle-aged, is still haunted by his demons from childhood. Dan now uses his “shining” gift for good, helping provide final comfort to the dying at a nursing home. But when he meets a twelve-year-old girl who shares his gift, he soon must protect her from a tribe of people called “The True Knot” who live off children with the “shining.” The war between good and evil explodes in this immensely satisfying return to Stephen King’s iconic novel, The Shining.

40 Chances: Finding Hope in a Hungry World
By Howard G. Buffett

If you had the resources to accomplish something great in the world, what would you do? In these forty unique and compelling stories, Howard G. Buffett tells the story of his mission to help feed the nearly billion people who lack basic food security. A remarkable journey, this humble and candid memoir is inspiring and the perfect gift for anyone looking for a little hope. 

Watch Howard Buffet discuss 40 Chances:

Inside the Baseball Hall of Fame
By the National Hall of Fame

insidethebaseballhalloffame Holiday Book Gifts For Him

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

A must-have on any baseball fanatic’s coffee table. Gorgeously packaged with more than 200 full-color photographs of objects in the Hall of Fame—many which are rarely or never displayed to the public—the book is a much like taking a walk through the museum. Images include: Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Green Light Letter, which encouraged the nation to continue playing baseball through World War II; the Lou Gehrig Appreciation Day Trophy awarded to him in 1939; and Shoeless Joe Jackson’s cleats worn while playing in the 1919 World Series, among many other iconic objects. 

The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty
By Willie and Korie Robertson

If the man in your life can’t get enough of A&E’s hit reality show Duck Dynasty, your holiday shopping stops here! In The Duck Commander Family, power couples Willie and Korie give fans a behind-the-scenes, up-close and personal look at the family, including Miss Kay, Phil, and Uncle Si. Complete with recipes and photos, the Robertsons’ rags-to-riches story is a must read for any fan of the show.

1001 Ideas That Changed The Way We Think

1001ideas Holiday Book Gifts For Him

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

The next book in the popular “1001” series, this book is a chronological survey of the most important ideas that have changed the world. Exploring concepts like Feminism, Metrosexuality, Art-Deco, Assembly Line, Surrealism, Vegetarianism, and many, many more, this book is destined to become a classic of popular reference and will be appreciated by the any of the more curious individuals—or trivia champions—on your gift list.

The Four Doors: A Guide to Joy, Freedom, and a Meaningful Life
By Richard Paul Evans

Richard Paul Evans, #1 bestselling author of The Walk and The Christmas Box, has met thousands of people hungry inspiration. His new book, The Four Doors, teaches readers to find inspiration in every day life with these four steps: 1. Believe in Your Destiny; 2. Escape from Internal Captivity; 3. Lead a Magnified Life; 4. Choose a Love-Centered Life.  Perfect for fans of The Secret

Beatles Vs. Stones
By John McMillian

beatles vs stones Holiday Book Gifts For Him

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Dad obsessed with Mick Jagger or Paul McCartney? Uncle Joe love Abbey Road and not sure about Some Girls? Expertly reported and revelatory, this lively narrative history explores the rivalry between the Rolling Stones and the Beatles. This fresh perspective on the complex relationship between the two bands is an essential read for any pop culture junkie or music lover. 

The Dangerous Animals Club
By Stephen Tobolowsky

dangerousanimals Holiday Book Gifts For Him

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

A hilarious and sentimental collection of essays about life, love, and adventure, from legendary character actor Stephen Tobolowsky. Known best for his appearances in Groundhog Day, Glee, Deadwood, and Mississippi Burning, Tobolowsky’s stories cover everything from Hollywood sets, hospital rooms, and crazy incidents with his unforgettable mother. Great for fans of David Sedaris or Patton Oswalt.

This list was curated by Simon & Schuster, a CBS Company. For more information on any of these books or audiobooks, please visit www.simonandschuster.com

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 24,936 other followers