The Big 12 has narrowed down their list of candidates for expanding the conference to a dozen schools, ESPN is reporting.

The 12 schools come from all over the country but include two local colleges in Rice and the University of Houston. Also in the mix are Air Force, BYU, UCF, Cincinnati, Colorado State, UConn, South Florida, SMU, Temple and Tulane.

Eight of those schools play in the same conference, the American Athletic conference that Houston won in 2015 on their way to a Peach Bowl and 13-1 record.

The Big 12 ended the dreams of seven other schools that did not make their final 12, Arkansas State, Boise State, East Caroline, New Mexico, Northern Illinois, San Diego State, and UNLV.

Now the schools still in the running have to present their case to make the conference to Big 12 officials, sometime in the next week is likely.

According to ESPN’s sources, the Big 12 will more than likely only expand back to 12 teams, and not to 14, in this initial expansion.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live