Astros Infielder Comes In To Pitch After Catching 4 Innings
ARLINGTON, Texas (CBS Houston) – A couple times during a season, we usually see a Major League Baseball team trail by double digits and have to bring in a position player to pitch. We don’t usually see a position player catch and pitch in the same game, though.
Enter Jake Elmore: second baseman for the Houston Astros. On Monday night, he was called on to catch for four innings. He then went on to pitch a perfect eighth inning. According to Baseball Reference, he is the 14th player since 1936 to pitch and catch in the same game.
“I told them I could catch two weeks ago, so maybe if the game was out of hand, why not see if I actually can catch,” Elmore told MLB.com. “Hopefully, I did all right.”
The Astros have two active catchers on their roster, but both were in the game’s starting lineup. Carlos Corporan started the game behind the plate but left after the third inning due to a possible concussion. The other catcher, Jason Castro, was the team’s designated hitter. According to MLB rules, once a starting DH moves to a position on defense, the team loses the DH spot for the rest of the game. So Astros manager Bo Porter had little choice in his decision.
Most players who catch and pitch in the same game are usually catchers. Elmore was actually the fifth player to pitch and catch in a game that was not a catcher.
“I think when any player plays out of position, it’s always fun to watch and see what happens,” Elmore added to MLB.com. “I’m glad I didn’t embarrass myself.”