Texans Announce Team Award Winners

View Comments
Texans quarterback Matt Schaub (credit: Getty Images)

Texans quarterback Matt Schaub (credit: Getty Images)

Featured Items

Small-WttNEW College Football Playoff System

Small-WttTinder Fun With Arian Foster Tweets

77820352_8Hot Cheerleader - Funny Faces 2014

From Our CBS Music Sites

77820352_8Awesomely Ugly Christmas Sweaters

77820352_8Houston Astros Tweet: Taylor Swift Concert Will Be Moved If They Make Postseason?!

459651046 Texans Announce Team Award WinnersThese Names Tend To Land On Santa's Naughty List

77820352_810 Weirdest Requests From Kids To Santa

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
Texans Central
Buy Texans Tickets
Mon Oct.20
Away vs Pittsburgh Steelers
findticketsbtn Texans Announce Team Award Winners
Sun Oct.26
Away vs Tennessee Titans
findticketsbtn Texans Announce Team Award Winners
Sun Nov.2
Home vs Philadelphia Eagles
findticketsbtn Texans Announce Team Award Winners
Shop for Texans Gear
NFL Scoreboard
NFL Standings
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

The Houston Texans have selected their team award winners for the 2012 season. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field. DE J.J. Watt was selected as the Most Valuable Player. QB Matt Schaub received the Ed Block Courage Award. G Ben Jones was voted as the Rookie of the Year. C Chris Myers was chosen as the Mark Bruener Award winner.

Watt has the most combined sacks and passes defensed in a season in NFL history with 34.5. He leads the AFC and is tied for the NFL lead with a franchise-record 19.5 sacks. Watt set an NFL record for a defensive lineman with 15 passes defensed this season.

Jones worked his way into the offensive line rotation at right guard in Week 2 against Jacksonville. He then assumed a starting role at the position in Week 7 vs.  Baltimore and has started every game since.

Schaub suffered a season-ending Lisfranc injury against Tampa Bay in Week 10 of the 2011 season. Since returning to the starting lineup, he’s thrown for 3,555 yards, which ranks fifth in the AFC, and 22 touchdowns this season. His 64.7 completion percentage is the second highest among all AFC quarterbacks.

Myers, who was voted a midseason captain, has started 78 consecutive games at center for the Texans. Now in his fifth year in Houston, he continues to be heavily involved in the community. Each year, the Mark Bruener award is given to the player who exemplifies outstanding leadership, sportsmanship, work ethic and commitment to his teammates)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26,094 other followers