610SPOR2 35h_CBSSportsRad_Houston


Texans DE Watt Named AFC Defensive Player Of The Week

View Comments
(Photo Credit: Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

(Photo Credit: Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

Featured Items

77820352_8Hot Cheerleader - Funny Faces 2014

Small-Wtt6-10s Go Tailgating

136535896 Texans DE Watt Named AFC Defensive Player Of The WeekWATCH: Texans Cheerleaders Take Ice Bucket Challenge

From Our CBS Music Sites

77820352_8Watch: Reason Why JJ Watt Is Awesome

77820352_8Things That Make YOU Better In Bed

77820352_810 Worst Ways To Breakup With A Woman

77820352_8PHOTOS: Maxim's List Of The 50 Hottest Celebs

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

Houston Texans DE J.J. Watt was named AFC Defensive Player of the Week following his performance vs. Indianapolis on Dec. 16. It is the second time Watt has won the award and the eighth time a Texans player has garnered the honor.

Watt tallied 10 solo tackles, three sacks, six tackles for loss, and a forced fumble against the Colts. It marked his second three-sack performance of the season and the eighth multi-sack game of his career.

Watt leads the AFC and is tied for first in the NFL in sacks with 19.5. He leads all defensive linemen with 15 passes defensed. Watt is the only player in NFL history with at least 15 sacks and 15 passes defensed in the same season.

Watt joins Chicago CB Charles Tillman (Weeks 5 and 7) as the only defensive players to win multiple player of the week honors this season.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Player                         Award                          Week                Year

J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     15                     2012

Matt Schaub                Offensive                      11                     2012

J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     2                      2012

Arian Foster                 Offensive                      7                      2011

Arian Foster                 Offensive                      4                      2011

Glover Quin                 Defensive                     12                     2010

Matt Schaub                Offensive                      6                      2010

Andre Johnson            Offensive                      2                      2010

Arian Foster                 Offensive                      1                      2010

Brian Cushing              Defensive                     8                      2009

Brian Cushing              Defensive                     6                      2009

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              4                      2009

Matt Schaub                Offensive                      2                      2009

Matt Schaub                Offensive                      14                     2008

Steve Slaton                Offensive                      13                     2008

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              8                      2008

Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              6                      2008

André Davis                Special Teams              14                     2007

Kris Brown                   Special Teams              5                      2007

Mario Williams             Defensive                     1                      2007

Kris Brown                   Special Teams              16                     2006

DeMeco Ryans            Defensive                     13                     2006

Andre Johnson            Offensive                      4                      2006

Jerome Mathis             Special Teams              8                      2005

Kris Brown                   Special Teams              3                      2004

Chad Stanley               Special Teams              9                      2003

Avion Black                 Special Teams              15                     2002

Aaron Glenn                Defensive                     14                     2002

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,010 other followers