Texas A&M’s Manziel First Freshman To Win Heisman Trophy

View Comments
(credit: Getty Images)

(credit: Getty Images)

Featured Items

Small-WttNEW College Football Playoff System

Small-WttTinder Fun With Arian Foster Tweets

77820352_8Hot Cheerleader - Funny Faces 2014

From Our CBS Music Sites

77820352_8Awesomely Ugly Christmas Sweaters

77820352_8Houston Astros Tweet: Taylor Swift Concert Will Be Moved If They Make Postseason?!

459651046 Texas A&Ms Manziel First Freshman To Win Heisman TrophyThese Names Tend To Land On Santa's Naughty List

77820352_810 Weirdest Requests From Kids To Santa

Get Breaking News First

Receive News, Politics, and Entertainment Headlines Each Morning.
Sign Up

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

HOUSTON (CBS Houston) Mark it one for the sports history books. Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy Saturday. The honor for Manziel comes on the heels of a record-breaking debut in college football.

“I have been dreaming about this since I was a kid, running around the backyard pretending I was Doug Flutie, throwing Hail Marys to my dad,” Manziel said after receiving the honor.

For Manziel to win the 78th annual Heisman Trophy, he beat Kansas State University quarterback Collin Klein and Notre Dame middle linebacker Manti Te’o. Manziel received 474 first-place votes and 2,029 points overall. Te’o was second with 321 (1,706) while Klein was a distant third with 60 (894).

Twenty-year-old Manziel has seemed to turn a tide in college football. In the past, the winners of the John Heisman, named in honor of the the Georgia Tech coach from the early 1900s, have been seniors.

Back in the 1980s, juniors started becoming common winners of the coveted college football prize. Tim Tebow became the first sophomore to win it in 2007, and two more won the trophy in the two seasons to follow. Coincidentally, Adrian Peterson came the closest to wining the Heisman as a freshman,but ended up finishing second to Southern California quarterback Matt Leinart in 2004.

Manziel, who is now the second player from Texas A&M to win the trophy, joins John David Crow from 1957.

Manziel has thrown for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns. He also ran for 1,181 yards and 19 more scores making him the first freshman, first SEC player and fifth player overall to throw for 3,000 yards and run for 1,000 in a season.

In his final college football match-up of the season, Manziel and the Texas A&M Aggies will play Oklahoma in the Cotton Bowl on Jan. 4.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26,141 other followers