610SPOR2 35h_CBSSportsRad_Houston


Texans QB Matt Schaub Named AFC Offensive Player of the Week

View Comments
(credit: J. Meric/Getty Images)

(credit: J. Meric/Getty Images)

Featured Items

77820352_8PHOTOS: The Bikini: from the '50s to Now

77820352_8Meet The 6-10s

77820352_8Best 7 Events At The Astrodome

77820352_8World Cup's Hottest Fans

From Our CBS Music Sites

77820352_8Is Chandler Parsons Dating A Kardashian??

77820352_8Nicki Minaj's Booty Takes Over Her Album Cover

77820352_8The Worst Things You Can Do On A First Date

77820352_8Local Gas Station Clerk/MMA Fighter Takes Down Thieves

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

Houston Texans QB Matt Schaubwas named AFC Offensive Player of the Week following his performance vs. Jacksonville on Nov. 18. It is the fourth time Schaub has won the award and the 10th time a Texans player has garnered the honor.


Schaub orchestrated an historic performance against the Jaguars by throwing for 527 yards, which tied for the second-most passing yards in a game in NFL history. Schaub’s 43 completions on 55 attempts tied for the second-most completions in a game in NFL history. He also threw a franchise-record five touchdowns passes, including the 48-yard game-winner to Andre Johnson in overtime.


Led by Schaub, the Texans tied an NFL record with 39 first downs, gained a franchise-record 640 yards of total offense and tied a franchise mark with 43 points. Schaub’s two touchdown passes and 183 passing yards in the fourth quarter helped the Texans overcome a 14-point deficit. He directed his fourth career game-tying drive to send the game into overtime and then powered the Texans to a 43-37 win following the ninth game-winning drive of his career.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:

Player                       Award                        Week              Year

Matt Schaub           Offensive                  11                    2012

J.J. Watt                    Defensive                  2                      2012

Arian Foster             Offensive                   7                      2011

Arian Foster             Offensive                   4                      2011

Glover Quin             Defensive                  12                    2010

Matt Schaub           Offensive                  6                      2010

Andre Johnson       Offensive                   2                      2010

Arian Foster             Offensive                   1                      2010

Brian Cushing        Defensive                  8                      2009

Brian Cushing        Defensive                  6                      2009

Jacoby Jones          Special Teams          4                      2009

Matt Schaub           Offensive                  2                      2009

Matt Schaub           Offensive                  14                    2008

Steve Slaton            Offensive                   13                    2008

Jacoby Jones          Special Teams          8                      2008

Jacoby Jones          Special Teams          6                      2008

André Davis            Special Teams          14                    2007

Kris Brown               Special Teams          5                      2007

Mario Williams        Defensive                  1                      2007

Kris Brown               Special Teams          16                    2006

DeMeco Ryans       Defensive                  13                    2006

Andre Johnson       Offensive                   4                      2006

Jerome Mathis        Special Teams          8                      2005

Kris Brown               Special Teams          3                      2004

Chad Stanley          Special Teams          9                      2003

Avion Black             Special Teams          15                    2002

Aaron Glenn           Defensive                  14                    2002

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus