Key Races To Watch On The Texas Ballot

View Comments
(credit: Getty Images)

(credit: Getty Images)

Key races to watch Tuesday in Texas:


At stake are the state’s 36 presidential electoral votes

R: Former Mass. Gov. Mitt Romney

D: President Barack Obama.


Winner replaces retiring Republican U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison

R: Ted Cruz, former Texas solicitor general from Houston

D: Paul Sadler, former state representative from Henderson


District 23: Runs from San Antonio to eastern El Paso County

R: Francisco “Quico” Canseco, the races incumbent, a first-term U.S. representative from San Antonio

D: Pete Gallego, nine-term Texas state representative from Alpine

District 14: Stretches along the Gulf Coast to encompass cities such as Beaumont while skirting the suburbs south of Houston

R: Randy Weber, two-term Texas state representative originally from Pearland but who recently moved to Alvin to be within the district

D: Nick Lampson, served four terms as a U.S. representative from Beaumont but was defeated in 2004


District 6: Houston

R: Rasuali Bray businessman and U.S. Air Force veteran from Houston

D: Mario Gallegos, Jr., incumbent from Houston who died in October of liver failure

District 10: Fort Worth

R: Mark Shelton, one-term Texas state representative from Fort Worth

D: Wendy Davis, the race’s incumbent, first-term Texas senator from Fort Worth


District 34: Corpus Christi

R; Connie Scott, incumbent

D: Abel Herrero

District 43: South Texas and the Coastal Bend

R: J.M. Lozano, incumbent

D: Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles

District 78: El Paso

R: Dee Margo, incumbent

D: Joseph Moody

District 105: Irving

R: Linda Harper-Brown, incumbent

D: Rosemary Robbins

District 107: Mesquite

R: Ken Sheets, incumbent

D: Robert Miklos

District 114: Dallas

R: Jason Villaba, incumbent

D: Carol Kent

District 117: San Antonio

R: John Garza, incumbent

D: Philip Cortez

District 134: Houston

R: Sarah Davis, incumbent

D: Ann Johnson

District 144: Pasadena; Incumbent Ken Legler wasn’t planning to run again but died of a heart attack in June

R: David Pineda

D: Mary Ann Perez

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,483 other followers