chase budinger dunk NBA Slam Dunk Winners Since 1984Chase Budinger dunks over Rudy Gay of the Grizzlies. (credit: Joe Murphy/NBAE via Getty Images)

Rockets forward Chase Budinger will participate in the 2012 NBA Slam Dunk Contest on Saturday, Feb. 25 at 7:30 p.m. CT. If he wins, he’ll be only the second white guy to slam his way to a dunking title.

Check out the players who won in years past. He has plenty of inspiration for the contest.

Click on the page numbers below.

2011 – Los Angeles – Blake Griffin (Clippers)


Blake Griffin impressed judges by leaping over a car and slamming the ball in for an incredible dunk.

2010 – Dallas – Nate Robinson (Knicks)

Nate Robinson throws down a nasty dunk in front of a crowd in Dallas.

2009 – Phoenix – Nate Robinson (Knicks)

Nate Robinson jumps over a very large human being for the slam.

2008 – New Orleans – Dwight Howard (Magic)

Super Man Dwight Howard flies through the air to reunite the ball with the hoop.

2007 – Las Vegas – Gerald Green (Celtics)

In this video, you’ll see Gerald Green’s opposition and all their best dunks.

2006 – Houston – Nate Robinson (Knicks)

Nate Robinson wins his first dunk contest in Houston.

2005 – Denver – Josh Smith (Hawks)

Josh Smith flies over his brave teammate, who is seated in the paint.

2004 – Los Angeles – Fred Jones (Pacers)

2003 – Atlanta – Jason Richardson (Warriors)

2002 – Philadelphia – Jason Richardson (Warriors)

2001 – Washington, D.C. – Desmond Mason (Sonics)

2000 – Oakland – Vince Carter (Raptors)

1997 – Cleveland – Kobe Bryant (Lakers)

1996 – San Antonio – Brent Barry (Clippers)

1995 – Phoenix – Harold Miner (Heat)

1994 – Minneapolis – Isiah Rider (Timberwolves)

1993 – Salt Lake City – Harold Miner (Heat)

1992 – Orlando – Cedric Ceballos (Suns)

1991 – Charlotte – Dee Brown (Celtics)

1990 – Miami – Dominique Wilkins (Hawks)

1989 – Houston – Kenny Walker (Knicks)

1988 – Chicago – Michael Jordan (Bulls)

1987 – Seattle – Michael Jordan (Bulls)


1986 – Dallas – Spud Webb (Hawks)

1985 – Indianapolis – Dominique Wilkins (Hawks)

1984 – Denver – Larry Nance (Suns)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Houston

Watch Live

Listen Live