610SPOR2 35h_CBSSportsRad_Houston

Sports

Texans 2011 Schedule

By BRIEN STRAW
View Comments
(credit: STEPHEN DUNN/Getty Images)

(credit: STEPHEN DUNN/Getty Images)

Featured Items

77820352_8Reluctantly Jumping On The Clowney Bandwagon

77820352_8O'Brien: "We Will Draft A Quarterback"

77820352_8Hot Cheerleaders - Funny Faces

77820352_8Some College Cheer

From Our CBS Music Sites

77820352_8What Is The WORST Series Finale?

77820352_8What Is The BEST Baseball Movie?

77820352_8Nun Stuns All On The Voice Italy, Breaks YouTube Record

77820352_8Conan O'Brien Fires Off On Houston

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

 

Related:

 

With the NFL’s release of the Texans 2011 schedule, we’ll see if head coach Gary Kubiak steals a line from former Yankee Yogi Berra and says, “déjà Vu all over again.”  The Texans will again open the season at home against the defending division champion Indianapolis Colts on September 11.

Following the opener against the Colts, the Texans go on the road to play Miami and New Orleans, before coming home to play Pittsburgh and Oakland before going to Baltimore to take on the Ravens.  Matching 2010’s 4-2 start would be great “on paper.”

Any “glass is half-full” fan or media member may be certain that the addition of Wade Phillips as defensive coordinator is all the Texans need to assure the clubs first playoff appearance in franchise history.  The NFL may not be so sure.  While the team had three national television appearances in 2010 – following the 9-7 record in ’09, there’s only one marquee match-up on the 2011 schedule, a pre-Christmas, Thursday night [12/22] appearance at the Colts.

While last season the team struggled down the stretch, the schedule does allow for a strong finish. December starts with a home game against the Falcons followed by a trip to hapless Carolina, a home game against the inept Bengals, the prime-time affair at Indy, and the season ending New Year’s Day home game against Tennessee.

Texans Regular-Season Schedule (All Times Central Time)
Week 1: Sunday, Sep. 11, Indianapolis, 12:00 PM
Week 2: Sunday, Sep. 18, at Miami, 3:15 PM
Week 3: Sunday, Sep. 25, at New Orleans, 12:00 PM
Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 2, Pittsburgh, 12:00 PM
Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 9, Oakland, 12:00 PM
Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 16, at Baltimore, 3:05 PM
Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 23, at Tennessee, 12:00 PM
Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 30, Jacksonville, 12:00 PM
Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 6, Cleveland, 12:00 PM
Week 10: Sunday, Nov. 13, at Tampa Bay, 12:00 PM
Week 11: BYE
Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 27, at Jacksonville, 12:00 PM
Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 4, Atlanta, 12:00 PM
Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 11, at Cincinnati, 12:00 PM
Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 18, Carolina, 12:00 PM
Week 16: Thursday, Dec. 22, at Indianapolis, 7:20 PM
Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 1, Tennessee, 12:00 PM

What do you think of the Texans 2011 Schedule? Leave your comment below.

.

twittericon22 Texans 2011 Schedule

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus