610SPOR2 35h_CBSSportsRad_Houston

Sports

Big Ten officials blow it again: The call that turned the game

View Comments
Featured Items

77820352_8Reluctantly Jumping On The Clowney Bandwagon

77820352_8O'Brien: "We Will Draft A Quarterback"

77820352_8Hot Cheerleaders - Funny Faces

77820352_8Some College Cheer

From Our CBS Music Sites

77820352_8(Watch) JJ Watt and His Best Bud

77820352_8Is Facebook Killing Your Career?

77820352_8Nun Stuns All On The Voice Italy, Breaks YouTube Record

77820352_8Conan O'Brien Fires Off On Houston

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up

By John P. Lopez

Here we go again. From Sharapova’sThigh.com:

As you likely know by now, the Auburn Tigers defeated the Oregon Ducks Monday night by the score of 22-19 to become the national champions of NCAA Football.

But, they became national champions thanks in large part to a ruling that Auburn running back Michael Dyer was not down at Auburn’s 45(ish) yard line with approximately two minutes and counting to go in a tied game.

Dyer used his hand to regain his balance as he was being tackled, and stood up after everybody else on the field(except for the refs apparently) thought he was down. He then ran to the Oregon 24-yard line for a 37-yard gain. That put Auburn in field goal range, which allowed them to run down the clock, and kick a field goal to win the game as time expired.

As I saw the replay over and over on television, it appeared to me that the refs made the right call in not calling Dyer down(granted, I was slamming beers at the bar, so what I saw was probably a tad blurred at the time).

However, in this video that you’re about to see courtesy of the awesome @bubbaprog of Mocksession.Com, it appears Dyer’s wrist may have been down, and if so, he should’ve been called down.

The refs ruled that only his hand hit the ground, which would mean he’s not down. But if the wrist hits the ground, the player should be ruled down at that spot.

Although I wouldn’t say it’s totally conclusive(and that will leave the NCAA with a fair excuse), it sure looks like Dyer’s wrist may have been down:

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus